Home » Meditations » I Can’t.

I Can’t.

Can God create a rock so hard, that God Himself cannot break it?

For years, this question was a thorn in my side and a flaw in the logic of Christianity. You’ll notice that it’s a very loaded question. Answer “Yes,” and you’ll see how quickly someone can dispute God being “All Powerful” but you answer no, thinking that He is all-powerful, and you’ve just beaten yourself.

I asked my youth pastor at the time and his response was laced in self-doubt and frustration, exclaiming that the question at its core was invalid and nonsensical. I do have the answer though! The only problem is that when we find ourselves facing such a seemingly perfect argument, obstacle, or what have you, it’s easy to forget what you stand for.

I stumbled on the answer in a personal revelation a couple of months ago and was so frustrated that I didn’t have it when I needed it. I just wanted to back to ninth grade and throw the answer in my girlfriend’s face. I know. It was my girlfriend who asked me. There’s a reason The Bible says, “Do not be unequally yoked with unbelievers…” 2 Corinthians 6:14. It’s just a headache.

So anyway. Now, almost seven years later, I have an answer I’m satisfied with and am willing to share in order to publicly discredit this foul question, and it starts with a verse.

“But Jesus looked at them and said, “With man this is impossible, but with God all things are possible.” Matthew 19:26

Now this doesn’t really put us anywhere new, but you have to remember that God is more than just God. God lowered Himself down and became man. Jesus was fully human who did all things in the name of God. What does that mean? That means that God the Father can make a rock that God the Son, physically does not have the strength to break. Why? Because He’s just a man.

Now, I’ll go even one step further and say that God DID create a rock that God Himself could not break. Any rock. Go outside, pick up a solid rock, and try to break it with your bare hands. If you can’t, odds are Jesus could not have either. But there’s a catch there too… Jesus calmed storms, raised the dead, and transformed water into wine. He can break a rock.

“He said to them, “Because of your little faith. For truly, I say to you, if you have faith like a grain of mustard seed, you will say to this mountain, ‘Move from here to there,’ and it will move, and nothing will be impossible for you.” Matthew 17:20

So to sum up, Can God create a rock that God Himself can’t break?

Yes. We have a God so perfect that He can circumvent even that argument. God, the Father, can create a rock that God, the Son, cannot break without His blessing through God, the Spirit.

Okay great, so this question is forever invalidated. Now how does this actually help me?

I work in a place where the phrase, “I can’t,” is scoffed at, mocked, abhorred, and at best puts me in the passenger seat while I watch someone else do exactly what I just said was impossible. Sometimes it’s so easy to see that perfect argument, obstacle, or what have you and just want to back away, but we have a God who can go head to head and win against all of that. When you reach a problem you can’t get through, don’t give up, just remember that God has the answer for you. Somewhere. Even if it’s seven years away, He’s got the answer for you and with Him, you’ll win in the end. Always.

Ever been asked a question that absolutely stopped you in your tracks like this one did for me? Leave a comment and I’ll use every resource I have to try to get the answer for you.

Thanks for reading, share your thoughts. I love criticism, I only ask that the comments be kept respectful.

God Bless

2 thoughts on “I Can’t.

Leave a Reply

