Home » Meditations » Nothing to fear but God.

Nothing to fear but God.

I have not been at my current job long, but if I’ve learned one thing it’s that the people who spend their lives building up this world day by day are scared; terrified even. I’ve always been a dreamer so I’ll be getting rich sometime this weekend… next weekend at the latest, but for most people every bump in the economic road is enough to cause a “go-hide-in-the-bunker” style panic. Sadly, the more I listen to it the more I feel myself becoming one of them.

My growing family doesn’t help the matter. When I chose to follow Christ it was after I had gotten attached to the Left Behind series so I was  already pumped up for the end of the world, privately wishing I’d be left behind so that I could live out some of those epic adventures in the name of God. Now I think of the end of the world and I have loose ends to tie up, people I care about, and a barrage of opinions from different sources about what will actually happen with varying degrees of how terrible it will be for me and my family. So am I brave now? Probably not. I’m definitely getting more fond of bunkers.

Last of all, I’m finally old enough to understand what people mean when they say the news is scary. All my life I’ve heard people complain about it, but I’ve never understood why. Now I’m old enough to listen to the reports, the crashes, the corruption, the madmen, the wars, the death, and anything else the media sees fit to share with the general public.

“After these things the word of the LORD came to Abram in a vision: “Fear not, Abram, I am your shield; your reward shall be very great.” Genesis 15:1

I’ll admit, I enjoy video games. Not frequently, but when I need a fix there’s not much that can pull me away, and one of my current favorites is SkyrimNow in this particular game, I have the option of throwing on a bunch of armor and swinging sword and shield to victory. Tons of people do it, it works, but for me that just doesn’t cut it. I don’t care how great you are at blocking with that shield, if you’re going up against a dragon or a giant, you’re probably going to get crushed. (To any sword and shield Skyrim players who might read this, kudos to you.) I just prefer the easier road of the mage.

The easiest way to get far in the game is to master your Summoning Attribute (which you can do really early) and hide behind a couple of Storm Atronachs every time someone tries to hurt you. This is more like the shield I like to imagine when I see this verse. God can be a round piece of metal on my arm and He can guard me as long as I have the strength to wave Him around, or I can give myself over to Him and watch Him turn the chase back on my enemies while I regroup and shoot arrows from the corner.

“Do not call conspiracy all that this people calls conspiracy, and do not fear what they fear, nor be in dread. But the LORD of hosts, him you shall honor as holy. Let him be your fear, and let him be your dread.” Isaiah 8:12-13

The bottom line is this; if we believe God created everything, knows how everything will end, and has already prepared his victory speech, things like corruption, madmen, failing economy, and everything else that sends us running, are all little things. The only thing in this entire world you should fear when trusting in God, is God, and the good news is that He’s on your side. So next time you hear some bad news or you don’t know if you should spend your next paycheck on bills or the blueprints for a bomb shelter, stop for a moment and ask God to stand in for a second while you regroup.

Thanks for reading, let me know what you guys thought of the post
God Bless

 

Leave a Reply

