Home » Meditations » Facing Goliath.

Facing Goliath.

Sometimes, on days like these, I feel like I’m a young David, where Goliath is towering over me and my only option is to strike him down before he reaches me. We all have days like that I think, where our problems seem to block out the sun and there’s no way around, just straight through.

Well if you haven’t read my last post, “Nothing to Fear but God,” I talk about how there’s nothing we face that God can’t protect us from. I don’t know David personally, so I can’t say whether or not he was afraid, but he provides an excellent example on how to handle problems.

“As the Philistine moved closer to attack him, David ran quickly toward the battle line to meet him.” 1 Samuel 17:48

This verse was pointed out once during a sermon when I was younger and I absolutely love it. This occurs after David has already proclaimed his victory in the name of the Lord. This means that a boy not only stood up to a giant warrior, but he ran out to meet him. What does this say for us?

It gives us the formula we need to face our greatest obstacles. When the only option is to move straight through, cry out your success in the name of God, because a success for His glory is the only one that matters. I think a good term here is, “hit your knees.” Submit yourself completely to God in the face of your giant. Once you’ve done that, run straight at it and remember, God raises warriors from shepherds.

“Reaching into his bag and taking out a stone, he slung it and struck the Philistine on the forehead. The stone sank into his forehead, and he fell facedown on the ground.” 1 Samuel 17:49

David took out a weapon he had used before to defend his flock against a lion and a bear. God empowers us with the tools we train with, and today our greatest weapon against giants is the Word of God. You should train in it every day, practicing against your lions and your bears, so that on days like today when a giant towers over you, you’ve got a tool to reach for.

So today I pray, that when your giants tower over you, that you remember David, the boy who toppled his giant.

Thanks for reading, let me know what you guys thought,
God Bless

4 thoughts on “Facing Goliath.

  1. Came across you while looking for somebody else from Cross Creek πŸ™‚ it is good to see you, Ethan, still running the race and being a man of faith and valor.

    To God alone be the glory!

Leave a Reply

