Home » 30 Days of Productivity » Where’s Your Paradise?

Where’s Your Paradise?

“Jesus said to him, “If you would be perfect, go, sell what you possess and give to the poor, and you will have treasure in heaven; and come, follow me.” When the young man heard this he went away sorrowful, for he had great possessions.” Matthew 19:21-22

Coming from someone who has never had an abundance of money, being poor stinks. Period. Money is safety, comfort, and status and what could be more important in this life? As children we all dream of the perfect home that we’ll make as adults, then as adults we strive to make that real. I personally want a cabin in the woods on a hill overlooking a lake. Why? To me that would be paradise. I’m living in a place I don’t like (geographically… it’s hot and humid and not at all my version of physically attractive.) and I always imagined I’d be gone the first chance I got, but why? Because I’m seeking my paradise on Earth.

The man mentioned in this verse had that problem too, except that he had achieved his paradise already. If I spend the rest of my life trying to get my cabin in the woods only to have God say, “Move back into your parents house in that hot, humid, ugly city.” Can you imagine? I’m not saying not to aim for that dream, definitely go for it, but remember that your paradise in Heaven will make your paradise on Earth look like the hot, humid, ugly city. Remember that God will put you where He needs you and if you’re too busy struggling to get to your version of perfection you might miss your mission along the way.

The bottom line here is to keep your eye on the true prize. Money is not security and you haven’t seen paradise until God has shown it to you. Where’s your paradise? Is reaching it getting in the way of where God actually wants you to be? Take a moment today to really think about where you are and pray about what you need to do while you’re there.

Thanks for reading,
God Bless

Leave a Reply

