Home » 30 Days of Productivity » Homosexuality.

Homosexuality.

I wasn’t going to post this or talk about this or go near this, but I saw a verse and so here I am.

“Just as Sodom and Gomorrah and the surrounding cities, which likewise indulged in sexual immorality and pursued unnatural desire, serve as an example by undergoing a punishment of eternal fire.” Jude 1:7

Recently I’ve been seeing little red equal signs all over the internet and honestly I have no idea what’s been causing this rise in gay rights outcries. What does it mean as a Christian though? Once I was a Christian who very deeply detested homosexuality but that might have been because “gay” was a fairly regularly used term to describe me in fifth grade as I was the “new kid from Texas” and that just seemed fun I guess. Now one of my best friends in the world is a homosexual, not to mention a close family member, so my views are a little different.

It’s hard, as a Christian, to be objective about homosexuality. Why? Because we’re human and we get things wrong pretty much all the time. The Bible very clearly points to homosexuality as a sin. Period. We argue a lot about what the Bible says or how to interpret what it says, but there’s really no wiggle room for that one. But how do we approach it? The same way we handle every other sin in the world.

“Brothers, if anyone is caught in any transgression, you who are spiritual should restore him in a spirit of gentleness. Keep watch on yourself, lest you too be tempted.” Galatians 6:1

Key words to watch for here are, “spirit of gentleness.” That means that if you need to confront someone about homosexuality, you need to remember that homosexuality is a sin, just like lying is a sin, or any other handful of things we all do on a regular basis, by nature. The usual argument is that homosexuality is unnatural, but only in the same way that lying is unnatural. We are born into sin. We are all born into all sin. I heard a pastor describe it once, saying that we all have specific sins that we struggle with most so you may go your whole life without once having a noticeable inclination toward homosexuality, but somewhere within you it’s there, the bottom line is that we are all born into all sins. Again, homosexuality is a sin. Period. That means that while I love my best friend and my family member to no end, I don’t support their lifestyle choice. That doesn’t mean I remind them every time I see them. That doesn’t mean I refuse to meet their partners. That means they know where I stand, I know where they stand and we respect each other.

I usually use Bible verses from the ESV but I really like NLT on this one.

“After all, you have not yet given your lives in your struggle against sin.” Hebrews 12:4

The thing about sins is that we are called to turn from them. I know of one homosexual who has chosen to reject that side of himself in order to live fully for God. We need to see this as a more real option. As Jude 1:7 expresses, Sodom and Gomorrah was a very clear example of what happens when people as a nation turns to sexual immorality rather than away from it.

So the bottom line is this, while homosexuality should not be ignored or accepted by any means, it is not our job as Christians to “fix” people of any particular sin. It is our job to love them, to lead by example, and to be a beacon aimed at Christ.

I really do appreciate everyone who takes the time to read this blog. Feel free to share any input in the comments.

God Bless

2 thoughts on “Homosexuality.

  1. I am fascinated by your thought of “confronting”. When did you last confront anyone about any sin, apart from homosexuality? When did you last mention your beliefs on homosexuality to your friend?

    Homosexuality is a singled-out “sin”, and this is unhealthy.

  2. Every sin seems singled out from the right perspective honestly. The problem is that we all come from a background of “this is okay, but that absolutely is not.” So telling a lie for a “good” reason for example, while still wrong, slips under the radar while homosexuality usually doesn’t.

    The people I usually confront about things aren’t people who struggle with homosexuality, so if you’re implying I focus on that, I don’t. I think the last time my friend and I discussed my beliefs on the matter was a year to two years ago.

    And again, we are human which means we get things wrong. All we can do is look to the Word and make changes as necessary. If you look at my other posts you’ll see I’m currently challenging myself to 30 days of productivity because I struggle with laziness and the Bible has some pretty upsetting things to say about that, so trust me I’m not just pointing fingers without looking in the mirror first.

    Thanks for the input,
    God Bless

Leave a Reply

